Southeast Community College
Home Page
Boys Basketball
Girls Basketball
Cross Country
Lincoln Northeast @LPS
Lincoln Southeast @LPS
Lincoln East
Lincoln High School
Lincoln North Star
Lincoln Public Schools
Lincoln Southwest
Photo Gallery
Guest Book
LPS Fanz
LPS Supporters
Our Sponsors!
Robb Gage Attorney at Law
Glasz Law Office
Jami Lea Photography
Pius X Legion Baseball
Encouragement Unlimited
ScoreStream Sponsored
Nebraska School Activities Association
Facebook-Lincoln Prep Sports
Twitter-Lincoln Prep Sports 2 Mobile Feed
01/12/2008 - SPECIAL REPORT: 2008 class up there with great senior classes of years past

Jeff Motz

Give credit where credit is due. The Class of 2008 of high school boys basketball players in Nebraska is considered to be one of the most talented in recent memory. Five Division I basketball recruits is quite remarkable for this state. Josh Jones at Omaha Central, Antoine Young at Bellevue West, Koang Duluony at Omaha Bryan, Wes Eikmeier at Fremont Bergan and Jesse Carr at Ainsworth are the cream of the crop in Nebraska, all taking Division I offers from some respectable schools.

Jones and Young will put aside their high school differences and team up next year for Dana Altman and the Creighton Bluejays. Duluony will remain their foe in college, committing to Missouri Valley Conference rival Indiana State and play for former Bluejay Kevin McKenna. Eikmeier will head across the river to Ames and play at Iowa State, while Carr has committed to play for Colorado State.

This is one of those rare seasons, where more than two players in the state commit to playing at a Division I school on a full scholarship.

Perhaps the best senior class in Nebraska of all time was 1982. That year, seven prep stars were highlighted as one of the more premiere group of seniors in the country.

Dave Hoppen starred at Nebraska after a great career at Omaha Benson. Ron Kellogg was super-state and all-Nebraska for three years at Omaha Northwest and had a great college career for Larry Brown at Kansas. Kerry Trotter and Vic Lazzaretti at Creighton Prep led them to a state title in 1981 and fell short of repeating in '82. Both of them ended up at Marquette. Trotter is one of the all-time career scoring leaders for the Golden Eagles, while Lazzaretti was plagued by injury. James Moore at Omaha Burke took his showcase to Nebraska. Mike Martz of Beatrice (not the NFL coach) joined Hoppen and Moore at Nebraska and Bill Jackman went to Duke for a season before trasnferring back to play for Moe Iba at Nebraska.

Also, 1982 produced the likes of Dana Janssen, Kevin Cook and Lonnie Ashley at Lincoln Northeast. After the three big men led the Rockets to a state championship over Ron Kellogg and Omaha Northwest, they went on to successful careers at Nebraska Wesleyan, taking them to three NCAA tournament appearances.

So, in many ways, the 1982 seniors and the 2008 class are similar.

But lets look back at the past 40 years and see some of the top talent the state has produced to play Division I college basketball:

Chuck Jura, Schuyler, University of Nebraska

Gene Harmon, Schuyler, Creighton
Tom Novak, Lincoln Northeast, Nebraska

Kent Reckewey, Lincoln East, Nebraka
Mike Heck, Papillion-LaVista, Creighton

Steve Erwin, Laurel, Nebraska

Terry Novak, Lincoln Northeast, Nebraska
Curt Hedburg, Lincoln East, Nebraska
Kevin Kuehl, Omaha Creighton Prep, Creighton
Larry Vaculik, Omaha Ryan, Colorado

John C. Johnson, Omaha Central, Creighton
Dave Wesely, Omaha Creighton Prep, Creighton
Bruce Kucera, North Platte, Creighton

Mark McVicker, Hastings, Nebraska

Mike McGee, Omaha North, Michigan
Jim Honz, Omaha Ryan, Creighton
Paul Trieschman, Grand Island, Creighton

Michael Johnson, Omaha Central, Creighton
Daryl Stovall, Bellevue West, Creighton

Derek Sailors, Lincoln East, New Mexico State
Dave MacFarlane, Plattsmouth, Nebraska

Alex Stivrins, Lincoln East, Creighton & Colorado

John Matzke, Lincoln High, Nebraska

Dave Hoppen, Omaha Benson, Nebraska
Ron Kellogg, Omaha Northwest, Kansas
Kerry Trotter, Omaha Creighton Prep, Marquette
Vic Lazzaretti, Omaha Creighton Prep, Marquette, Loyola
James Moore, Omaha Burke, Nebraska
Bill Jackman, Grant, Duke & Nebraska
Mike Martz, Beatrice, Nebraska

Cedric Hunter, Omaha South, Kansas

Joel Sealer, Millard South, Nebraska

Rich King, Omaha Burke, Nebraska
Jed Bargen, Lincoln East, Nebraska

Bruce Chubick, Atkinson West Holt, Nebraska

Steve Scheidegger, Columbus, Creighton

Terrence Badgett, Omaha South, Nebraska

Curtis Marshall, Omaha Creighton Prep, NC State
Jason Glock, Wahoo, Nebraska

Andre Woolridge, Omaha Benson, Nebraska & Iowa
Erick Strickland, Bellevue West, Nebraska
Doug Brandt, Hastings, Baylor
Joe Vogel, North Platte, Colorado State

Othello Meadows, Omaha Creighton Prep, East Carolina
Bo Buettenback, Hastings
Andy Markowski, Ord, Nebraska
Chad Ideus, Adams, Nebraska & Nebraska Wesleyan

TJ Pugh, Omaha Creighton Prep, Kansas
Mike Bargen, Lincoln East, Marquette
Kevin Mungin, Papillion-LaVista, Creighton

Alvin Mitchell, Omaha Burke, Nebraska (eventually Cincinnati and UNO)


Alton Mason, Lincoln Northeast, Marquette & Arizona State
Dan Kolder, Columbus, Creighton
Justin Haynes, Sterling, Creighton

Jon Beerboem, Fairbury, Boston College

Mike Hahn, Lincoln Northeast, Pacific
Mike Preston, Omaha Westside, Pacific
Dan Masters, Plattsmouth, Pacific

Shawn Redhage, Lincoln East, Arizona State

Tom Cockle, Lincoln Christian, Pacific

Andrew Drevo, Lincoln Christian, Nebraska

Zach Fortune, Bellevue West, South Dakota & Iowa State

Jimmy Motz, Lincoln Northeast, Creighton
Jake Muhleisen, Lincoln Southeast, Nebraska
Tony Wilbrand, Alliance, Nebraska

Wes Wilkinson, Grand Island, Nebraska
Dusty Jura, Columbus Lakeview, Northern Iowa & Nebraska-Kearney
Kyle Prochaska, Wahoo Neumann, New Mexico

Nick Bahe, Lincoln Southeast, Kansas & Creighton

Joseph Jackson, Louisville, Denver University

Josh Dotzler, Bellevue West, Creighton

Matt Hill, Lincoln Southeast, Texas
Tyler Bullock, Lincoln North Star, Denver University
Derrick Russell, Omaha Central & Lincoln North Star, Iowa State

Take the Poll!
There are no polls available for this section.
Our Sponsors!
Southeast Community College
LES Temperature Sponsor
Lincoln Convention and Visitors Bureau
Rotellas Italian Bakery
Ayars & Ayars
Union Bank and Trust-UBT
Trackside Bar Waverly Keno 2
Stephenson Truck Repair 3
Jim Huffman Productions-Spring Festival Main Mobile Feed
Advertise on - 5940 R Street, Suite 200, Lincoln, NE 68505 - Phone: (402) 429-4328 -

This website is a product of CyaNet Sports.